The Ultimate Guide to Data Center Certification Standards

Data center certification and compliance standards are defined to reduce customer risk and set a baseline for data center and cloud operations. Standards help ensure that data, intellectual property, and people are protected from varying types of harm and that providers and their customers can be held accountable for non-compliance.

While sometimes perceived as a burden, standards help advance operational excellence by requiring data center providers to enhance their capabilities to meet their customers’ needs as relevant industry technologies evolve.

We have developed this guide to quickly reference the compliance and certification standards that apply to your industry. We provide links to the source for each compliance summary so you can easily find more information on each standard, better understand how it applies to your enterprise, and determine if your data center provider also needs to be capable of addressing it.

Examples of Common Data Center & Cloud Compliance Standards:

  2. PCI / PCI-DSS
  3. FISC
  4. ISO 9001: 2015
  5. ISO 27001
  6. SOC 1 Type II
  7. SOC 2 Type II
  8. SSAE 16
  9. Uptime Institute Tier I, II, III, IV
  10. BICSI
  11. CSA / CSA STAR
  12. DIACAP
  13. FedRAMP
  15. EU-US Privacy Shield
  16. ISAE 3402
  17. ITIL
  18. LEED Certification
  19. NIST 800-53 / FISMA
  20. TIA 942